In recent years, many young people decide to further their study abroad. Do you think the advantages of studying abroad outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the last several years, along with the rapid development of economy, an increasing number of parents have been sending their children to study abroad. A majority of people hold the view that studying abroad brings students many benefits, while others are of the opinion that students should finish university education in their motherland. It is quite natural that people from different backgrounds may have divergent attitudes towards it. Those who advocate that studying abroad has a lot of disadvantages have their sound reasons. First of all, living far away from home, students will suffer from loneliness and homesickness. Overseas students often feel disoriented and depressed for lack of adequate knowledge and understanding of the local customs and lifestyle. Secondly, many students do not want to return to their native country after graduation because most of them want to have a more comfortable life and a brighter future overseas. This may result in a serious brain-drain and our country will inevitably incur a huge loss of talents. To this issue, some other people hold a different attitude, arguing that students should go abroad to study. To begin with, it can broaden the students’ vision. They get a chance to experience a totally different culture. The knowledge of social customs acquired in other countries helps them become more open-minded. Next, there are academic advantages. Students can learn advanced science and technology. They receive a different education. The book resources are more up-to-date. The professors are aware of all the latest development in their fields. Therefore the standard of teaching is much higher. Moreover, when they finish their study abroad, they will have more choices for their future career. All the above merits are conducive to their self-betterment and self-realisation. For my part, I stand on the latter opinion that while overseas study has its drawbacks, the advantages are more obvious. It can broaden one’s horizon. Students have easy access to the first-rate facilities and the latest development in science and technology. In addition, when they finish their study, they have more job opportunities. Therefore, as long as it is financially feasible, an overseas education may do a person more good than harm.