An increasing number of children have become hooked on fast food and aerated drinks that do not provide much nutrition. This poor diet has led to a rise in obesity among children. What are the problems that are associated with obesity in children and what steps could be taken to prevent it?

In today’s world, childhood obesity is one of the most pressing problems. The poor eating habits with less nutrition by hooking on to the fast foods and aerated drinks are the main reason for this. In this essay, we can delve into the problems which are associated with obesity in kids and can try to find some preventive solutions. To begin with, with the increase in number of fast food outlets, the people have become more addictive to such food tastes improvised with many preservatives which are more harmful to the health. Children are the main victim of this. They gets easily attracted and convinced. They are becoming obese on these days. Kids tends to eat fatty foods such as chips, fried chicken and guzzling cans of soft drinks while watching tv and playing video games. They have a sedentary lifestyle. As a consequence, they are overweight, unhealthy and unfit to play or do any physical exercise. Another devastating effect is that, the high risk of heart diseases, diabetes which is often found in children below 15 on these days, and cancer, kidney-liver failures due to the over intake of aerated drinks which is found to have dangerous artificial sweeteners. Moreover, one glass of aerated drink can decrease the metabolism twice and also destroys fat burning enzymes. In addition, foods cooked in restaurants are not hygiene always and sometimes owners buy low-quality ingredients which can cause some serious health issues. As a solution to this, people should choose home-cooked meals above the fast foods. Almost all the items prepared at home are cooked with great care. Several measure can be done by parents to control the obese situation. Firstly, parents should encourage their children to eat at home and inculcate the habit of cooking right from the childhood. By providing them healthy food, control what they eat and ensure that they have a healthy diet. For instance, the diet that includes more vegetables and less fat contents. Furthermore, the parents should control the time they spend in front of television, computer and encourage them to do regular exercises. In conclusion, it is true that the obesity have its negative impacts on children and is rising alarmingly. Home cooked meal is not only healthy and hygienic but can be interesting too. One can try making one dish in several by experimenting with ingredients. If we can’t control the opening of these restaurants, we can balance by encouraging young people to be more active, as well as steering them away from fast food outlets and bad eating habits.