It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

These days, there has been a rise in the number of students taking a year-long break between school graduation and entering the university. Youngsters can earn money and prepare better for university, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages of having a year off between finishing school and going to the university. Firstly, students can earn additional money to pay their tuitions. It is beneficial for people who cannot afford the fees, as they can work a year before entering the university and earn some money. Secondly, students have more time to prepare for the university. A year break will be a perfect time to polish student’s skills and be ready for the higher education. On the other hand, one problem when people take a year off is that this year can become the wastage of time or the reason for not going to university. Students might loose their concentration on studies during the break or even worse - interest for studying. For instance, not entering the university after a break due to lost of motivation to study is not an unusual case in many countries. In conclusion, while students can benefit from having a year break, it can also lead to lack of concentration and motivation to study.