Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing goods that are cheap.

Every now and then a visit to the local market brings scenes of enormous queues of people before vendors, who sell products at cheap rates. Yet, a shop where branded items with certification and guarantee are displayed, doesn't seem to attract the mob much. This observations takes one to the question on quality or quantity. It seems as though the quality advocates never understand quantity advocates and vice-versa, even though both of them have some strong arguments in their favor. Spending money over commodities that last is worth every penny. It is always better to expend more, if it saves the energy, time and money which the low- cost items demand occasionally, due to them being worn out easily. Another issue with buying inexpensive items is that their frequent disposal means more waste to the nature. From an ecological aspect, it benefits the earth as do it does the individual. Despite saying so, we shouldn't turn our blind eyes towards the other side. It is an unavoidable reality that not everyone can afford expensive things. People struggle to meet their necessary requirements for life. To pay extra dollars on an exotic product will be insensible to them when the same cash can feed their family for two more days. Consequently, it is not kind enough of us to say from an humanitarian perspective, that companies should only produce lasting items without concerning the money involved. In conclusion, after weighing the pros and cons of the argument through an unbiased lens, it is wise to say that we need companies which manufacture cheap items as well as that make first quality items. As a pluralistic society it is wise to leave the decision to the consumers on making the purchase based on quality or quantity.