Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

Nowadays, it seems that the life span of citizens in industrialized countries is constantly improving. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. The main issue is that there will be more retired people who needs financial support, which might be a burden for their relatives or society in general. Indeed, the proportion of younger, working adults will decrease, and the government will therefore receive less taxes in relation to the size of population. Not only that, young adults might increasingly have to look after their elderly relatives, leading to lack of time for themselves. Another problem of this trend is a rise in the demand for healthcare. Take Japan for example, the country has taken a huge damage from Covid last year, mostly because its senior citizens required even more resources to fight against the disease. There are several actions that could be taken to solve the problems described above. In response to the taxes issue, each countries could try to raise the retirement age to 65 to 70. In the modern age, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to be productive, thanks to countless achievements in healthcare. Encourage immigration would also be a measure to increase the number of working adults, which improve the average income of each country. Additionally, government should fund nursing homes in order to ease the burden from youngle people taking care of their elders. Finally, it would be wise to take budgets from other less serious areas such as space exploring, weapon manufacturing and spend them on vital healthcare, accommodation and transport facilities for older citizens. In conclusion, various steps can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.