Although American English and British English are widely used in the modern world

Although American English and British English are widely used in the modern world, they have major differences due to their history. First of all, there are differences in the vocabulary. While the Americans eat cookies, the British eat biscuits. The Americans call the back of their cars "trunk", the British call them "boot". Another example is that "crisps" in British English and "chips" in American English are the same thing. One more difference lies in the pronunciation. For instance, The letter "a" in "dance" is pronounced [ae] in American English, while it is pronounced [a: ] in British English. The letter "a" in "tomato" in British English is pronounced [a: ] and [ei] in American English. Finally, some words are spelled differently in the two kinds of English such as "-ise" (appetiser, familiarise, organise) in American English and "-ize" (appetizer, familiarize, organize) in British English. In short, despite the variations in American and British English, those two are still considered one language