Alternative medicine is not new.

Alternative medicine is not new. It is admissible that it predates conventional medicine and it is still used by numerous people all over the world. I am unconvinced that it is hazardous, and feel that both alternative and conventional medicine can be useful. There are several reasons why the conventional medical community is frequently dismissive of alternatives. Firstly, there has been tiny scientific research into such medicine, consequently there is a scarcity of evidence to support the claims of their supporters. Furthermore, people frequently try such treatment in light of the fact that of recommendations from friends, and therefore come to the therapist with an extremely beneficial attitude, which may be part of the reason for the cure. Moreover, these therapies are usually only useful for long-term, chronic conditions. Acute medical problems, such as accidental injury, frequently require more conventional methods. On the other hand, there remain strong arguments for the use of alternatives. Despite the lack of scientific proof, there is a plethora of anecdotal evidence to suggest that these therapies work. In addition, far from being hazardous, they frequently have few or no side effects, consequently the worst outcome would be no change. One of the strongest arguments for the effectiveness of alternative therapies in the West is that, whilst conventional medicine is available without charge, a plethora of people are prepared to pay considerable sums for alternatives. If they were totally unhelpful, it would be surprising if this continued. I strongly believe that conventional medicine and alternative therapies can and should coexist. They have various strengths, and can both be used effectively to target particular medical problems. The best situation would be for alternative therapies to be used to support and complement conventional medicine.