Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership & use.

Some people think that governments should promote other forms of transport such as metro trains and electric buses. In addition to that, international rules and regulations must be made to regulate the ownership of the vehicles and to put restrictions on the use of motorized vehicles in urban areas. I agree with this notion. This encouragement of modern transportation will reduce the health risks and new laws will curb the growth of upcoming cars on the roads. The promotion of alternative transport like metro trains will greatly reduce the pollution produced by conventional transportation such as cars and motorcycles. This is because, the traditional IC engines are less efficient and are the cause of hazardous pollution in the cities because they release their unburned fuel into the atmosphere, creating health risks for the residents of that city. Issues like these are absent in the metro trains which run purely on electricity, as well as carrying millions of passengers back and forth from their office to their homes safely and without releasing a single pollutant into the atmosphere. For example, trains in New York City can carry 10, 000 passengers on a single trip and can travel at a speed, far superior to their traditional counterparts, and that even without burning low-quality fuel, saving huge amounts of carbon going into the atmosphere. Besides this, the introduction of new international rules will help in restricting the growth of upcoming cars on the roads by managing the ownership of the vehicles. Although this control will restrict the personal freedom of the choice, however, it is essential to keep the cities from choking. In China, For example, a family is allowed to have only one car for their personal use and if they want to have another vehicle, they have to explain to the authorities about how the second car is essential for their daily commute and that even takes years before they get permits to buy a second car. These measures can help to prevent traffic jams in urban areas and can provide more freedom for pedestrians to safely commute around the cities. In conclusion, the promotion of alternative transportation is necessary to lower the pollution caused by the thousands of vehicles on the road. I believe that the introduction of a new set of international laws to discourage ownership of the car and restricting these vehicles entering the urban centers an area that is approximately central within some larger region centres will provide freedom to pedestrians and reduce traffic congestions.