All Cars That Burn Fossil Fuels Should Be Banned And Electric Cars Should Replace Them

Cars running on fossil fuels emit a lot of poisonous gases into the atmosphere and accelerate the pace of global warming. Hence, some people argue that all petrol and diesel cars should be banned and replaced by electric cars. While I do appreciate the rationale behind this argument, in my opinion, it may take many more years or even decades for this to be a viable option. Electric cars are eco-friendly because they do not emit poisonous gases. They run on electrically charged batteries. And for this reason, the electric car technology must be promoted. Petrol or diesel cars, on the other hand, are one of the biggest causes of atmospheric pollution. They burn fossil fuels and in this process release gases that elevate the temperature of the atmosphere. By simply eliminating these cars from roads, we will be able to check global warming and improve air quality. Unfortunately, the electric car technology is still in its nascent stage. Of course, some companies have launched them and they are already on the roads. The demand for these cars is also increasing because they are environment friendly. However, at the moment, they are considerably more expensive than petrol or diesel cars. Also, electric cars beating petrol cars in power and efficiency are yet to make their debut. There are not enough charging stations either. All of these factors affect the wide scale adoption of electric cars. The truth is that they are still way beyond the reach of a middle class family. Of course, the technology will improve and prices will drop but this may take many more years or decades. Until then, it is not feasible to ban cars running on fossil fuels. To conclude, it is essential to stop using cars running on gasoline. However, this is not something we can achieve overnight as the electric car technology still has to develop a lot. Once, electric cars become commonplace, I see no reason not to phase out petrol and diesel cars.