Alcohol consumption has increased dramatically over the years. Some people believe that the government should increase taxes on alcoholic beverages but others oppose to this idea and advocate personal responsibility. What do you think?

In today's society, the immoderate use of alcoholic beverages has alarmed governments around the world. This brings all sorts of adverse effects such as street violence, driving offences, etc. Although some advocate levying more taxes would help to improve the situation, I feel it is an individual responsibility to have control over their excessive usage. The failure of some governments implementing this heavy toll on alcohol purchase stands, as an illustration, to prove the thesis statement true. To begin with, alcoholic addicts do not have control over the exorbitant consumption of the substance. Despite its high cost, lower middle class and middle-class people in the society went into debts, but never tried to limit themselves from buying. This has been proved to be true twice so far when the Indian government has imposed heavy taxes on alcoholic beverages in 1990 as well as in 2020. With such policies, the nation's GDP rate has been increased but defeated the whole purpose of the strategy. Thus, it has been witnessed that these kinds of schemes cannot be practical in regulating liquor consumption. Additionally, the occasional drinker would suffer from higher prices, which is an unfair outcome. Hence, the governments should bring different awareness programs such as street plays, campaigns, etc. illustrating its counteractive effects. For instance, Indore, a major north Indian state has become successful in implementing this approach and stands as an inspiration to the fellow state governments. To sum up, I believe it is ultimately the nation's responsibility to protect its citizens. The more innovative they are in regulating the excessive usage, the better the results are.