Air travel can only benefit the richest people and ordinary people can have no benefit from the development of air travel.

Air Travel is one of the most expensive modes of transportation. It is true that rich people travel via air more often than ordinary people and will certainly benefit from advancement in that field, however, I do not agree that development of air travel can have no benefit for the ordinary people or those who belong to lower economical class. Admittedly, the rich are the main beneficiaries of the air travel industry. They use air travel far more than the ordinary people, as they prefer travelling via air even for short distances. Most middle or lower class people prefer to choose cheaper options for domestic travel, even if it takes much longer or is inconvenient. However, for long distances, they don't have much options to choose from. In such cases, they are either unable to travel or have to spend a fortune just on a journey. This can be changed with the help of development of air travel. Today, many people view air travel as a luxury available only for the rich. But, they forget there was a time when cars were only affordable by the rich, which was also changed by development. Thus, advancements made in this sphere will also facilitate everyone and not just the ultra rich. As further strides in technology are made, flights will become cheaper and thus more accessible for the ordinary people. Flying would become the standard way of travelling for journeys that otherwise take days via land or water. Furthermore, with better technology and by using cost efficient methods, the environment will also benefit. Experts are looking for ways to use lesser fuel per flight. In recent studies, it was found that if meals are not provided on shorter flights, it can save thousands of dollars as it would reduce the total weight of the flight, thereby requiring lesser fuel. Such inventions and innovations will benefit the everyone as the carbon footprint could be reduced via such artful methods. To reiterate, development in any field benefits all. With further advancement in technology, flights can be more affordable for the masses, which would change the way people view air travel.