Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily

Over the recent years, people are travelling more frequently by flights due to drop in ticket prices, which caused raised in air pollution and noise levels. Some believe that, if governments start imposing high tariffs it could reduce air traffic significantly. I am a strong opponent of such practise as this will impact the tourism and make flight travel less affordable for the public. Firstly, one of the biggest problems with this approach is that, it will advertently impact airline Industry. In other words, due to high fares people stop travelling by flights to holiday destinations by which it will affect the airline company revenue. They might prefer to travel by other cheaper means of transportation rather than expensive priced flight tickets. For instance, a recent Delta Airlines report shows the steep decline in the quarterly revenue due to raise in tax prices for flights travelling to exotic destinations. Secondly, imposing such high taxes makes it less affordable to a large number of public. Especially to families who might not be able to purchase over priced tickets with high taxes. Moreover, it will significantly affect the low income families and poor people who cannot afford to pay such big air fares. For example, The New York Times report shows that, 60% of tourists cannot travel to tourist destinations like Miami and Las Vegas because of expensive priced flight tickets. To conclude, governments taxing airlines to reduce air traffic will have minor impact on the air pollution and noise levels. This approach is not worth considering to improve the current situation because it will decrease the airline company revenue and make it less affordable to the tourists and the general public travelling by flights to vacation places.