Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. v. 2

Over the recent years, people are traveling more frequently by flights due to a drop in ticket prices, which caused raised in air pollution and noise levels. a number of believe that, if governments start imposing high tariffs could reduce air traffic significantly. I am a strong opponent of such practice as this will impact the tourism and prepare flight travel less affordable for the public. Firstly, one of the biggest problems with this approach is that it will inadvertently impact airline Industry. In other words, due to high fares people stop traveling by flights to holiday destinations by which it will affect the airline company revenue. They might prefer to travel by other cheaper means of transportation rather than expensive priced flight tickets. For instance, a recent Delta Airlines report shows the steep decline in the quarterly revenue due to a rise in tax prices for flights traveling to exotic destinations. Secondly, imposing such high taxes compose it less affordable to numerous public. Especially to families who might not be able to purchase overpriced tickets with high taxes. Moreover, it will significantly affect the low-income families and poor people who cannot afford to pay such enormous airfares. For example, The New York Times report shows that, 60% of tourists cannot travel to tourist destinations like Miami and Las Vegas owing to the fact that of expensive-priced flight tickets. To conclude, governments taxing airlines to reduce air traffic will have a minor impact on air pollution and noise levels. This approach is not worth considering to improve the current situation in light of the fact that it will decrease the airline company revenue and form it less affordable to the tourists and the public traveling by flights to vacation places.