After finishing school, some students go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that some students instead of enrolling at the university, they tend to travel or work for a period of time after graduating high school. While there may be some advantages of this tendency, I believe that the advantages of that pale into insignificance compared with drawbacks. On the one hand, this tendency is likely to be advantageous in terms of making students mature while they are making critical decisions. To clarify, since some students are uncertain about the field of study that they are willing to study during their high school ages, it is advantageous for them to travel and work in order to observe their surroundings. Accordingly, working and traveling from their early ages can also make them to be financially independent person. However, there is no guarantee that they will spend this amount wisely, since still they are not enough well-educated. In my opinion, the negative sides of this trend clearly outweigh positive ones. One of the major disadvantages is that when students acquire money from their early ages, they will be satisfied with their income and become to deviate from applying for the university. Another main drawback of that is that when students travel and work for a period of time, they will forget basic concepts that they have learnt them during the school times which will cause their applications for the university not to be approved. Therefore, it is essential for students initially to get education and then work. In conclusion, even though travelling and finding a job may make students mature, this advantage is clearly overshadowed by two major disadvantages: deviating from applying for the university and forgetting basic knowledge obtained during the high school times.