After finishing highschool, many teenagers confront the dilemma of whether to pursue higher education or seek a job.

After finishing highschool, many teenagers confront the dilemma of whether to pursue higher education or seek a job. While there are some benefits to getting a job immediately after school; achieving a tertiary education degree can bring a successful career. In this essay, I will discuss both views of the statement. On the one hand, there are some attractive reasons to start work straight after school. Instead of relying on parents, many young people desire to earn money and create their own source of income as soon as possible. In this way, they can become independent, for instance, they will be able to afford to buy a car, house, and property. Moreover, youngsters who seek a job first, rather than proceed to studies, may have a chance to gain real experiences, widen horizons and learn practical skills related to their chosen professional areas which can lead them to successful careers. On the other hand, the option to enroll in university and gain higher education can be more beneficial for young people in this competitive contemporary era. Proper higher level education hones the qualifications and opens the door for better job places. First, certain professions such as doctor, engineer, scientist, and lawyer, which are required academic qualifications. They can only be obtained in University or higher educational institutions. Without having relevant education degrees from university, these skills can not be mastered. Second, many companies and government departments are more likely to hire qualified professionals and they tend to earn higher salaries. Nowadays, even for one vacant position, there may be hundreds of applications. Thus, unless young people who obtained certain qualifications from university or college will not be able to compete in the job arena. To conclude, weighing both views, it is apparent to me that young people are more likely to have successful careers if they continue their higher studies after school; despite getting a job after school seems to progress more quickly.