Afghanistan Crisis and Taliban

With the withdrawal of troops by America, the Taliban has rapidly captured most of Afghanistan and now has complete control in Kabul. The swift move by the Taliban was unexpected and the Biden Administration has got this all wrong. Now that the US government is blaming the Afghan government and its military, the real tragedy is about the people of Afghanistan. People are scrambling to get out of the country, but this is not easy. Visuals at the Kabul international airport are heartbreaking. Men, women, and children, crowding at Kabul International Airport in hopes to get out of the country. Many people were seen trying to get into aircraft while some made desperate attempts to grab hold of the wing of a moving aircraft. A horrifying video of a person falling off the aircraft was viral on the internet. This shows the complete failure of the US and its allies to anticipate the Taliban move. The Biden Administration and the NATO powers have been conducting flights to evacuate its citizens, while some countries have agreed to give asylum to Afghan citizens. India on the other hand has offered to give citizenship to the Afghan minority groups of Sikhs and Hindus. India's airlift operation has so far evacuated more than 600 people. With hopes diminishing for the people of Afghanistan and Taliban growing stronger it is evident that this humanitarian crisis is far from over. The Taliban oppression of the Afghani people is likely to get stronger in the coming days and blaming the US or any country is not going to help.