Adverts that have the potential to upset people have no place in a civilised society. Discuss.

In today’s world, advertisements are one of the major mediums of communication, which is seen everywhere around starting from newspaper to TV. Although some of them bring value to the nation, while some are deemed unnecessary and unrequired. In my opinion, there is a balanced weightage for both the viewpoints. This essay will decipher the points. Firstly, ads for cosmetic products, which is a created make-belief for common civilians, wherein those who have an unlighted shade of skin get carried away imagining that they can become fairer with the usage of these. It not only creates frustration, but also decrease our bank balance. For example, jokes related to these goods, are very common in cinema, which will consist of a person applying the cream to become fair, instead turn darker than how they previously were. On the other hand, some are intended and targeted at the general safety of the public but may visually seem very upsetting. Such commercials are conceived to be disturbing, with the intention for public to know the consequences and stop using such items or follow rules. To take an instance, prior to the beginning of a movie, there is an ad to publicize ‘Stop Smoking’, which shows the live images of cancers associated with it. At the same time, to create an awareness of safety, people show after effects of accidents as promotion, seemingly very improper, but with great messages. To conclude, paid announcements are very vital to provide information and guide us some health and safety rules, which can be followed by people who are serious, while those who are not, can expect consequences.