Some people think that private companies should not be allowed to carry out any technology. Only the government can do it.

There is a debate about whether private companies should be allowed to participate in technical research. Someone says that the government should control all the researches. I disagree with forbidding all the individual firms from participating in any research projects. In my opinion, whether private companies should be involved in scientific studies depends on the different fields they research. Private companies’ involvement in the research of some technologies must be restricted. If profit-driven organisations were allowed to freely conduct any experiment they are interested in, there would be devastating outcomes. For example, rather than being researched and developed by private companies, nuclear technology is strictly controlled by the government in almost every country. This is due to the fear that the technology of purifying radioactive materials which can be used to produce powerful weapons of massive destruction, such as an atomic bomb, may fall into the wrong hands. However, there are financial and technological arguments in support of private businesses getting involved in the research of certain technologies. Firstly, since the money of any government is not inexhaustible, the budget allotted for scientific research is rather limited. This means that the government is unable to cover all needs of technological advances, especially those needed in people’s daily lives, such as robots doing family chores. In the light of this, private companies have an important role to play as a good source of funds. Secondly, privately-owned companies help to accelerate the pace of technological advances, as they have to constantly launch products with new functions so as to compete for a larger market share. In conclusion, both private companies and government have their specific advantages in different aspects. We should engage private enterprises in a particular domain that would benefit people rather than one-sidedly prohibiting firms from researching in all technology.