Advertising is influencing people more and more. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give your own opinion and examples.

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree? It is true that nowadays advertising manipulates people to buy more through their powerful marketing strategy and most of the time these are not very useful products. Although advertising has some benefits, personally I agree with the above statement. On the one hand, today to some extent, advertisements are necessary in the free market economy. There are several reasons for that. Firstly, it is the key part of modern business because companies need to tell the customers about their products so that they can sell these. Secondly, advertising helps us to know the choices we have, without it we would have less choices. Finally, it is a creative industry and also a form of modern art that employs many people, if there is no advertising facilities unemployment rate will be higher. On the other hand, there is no doubt that advertisers aims to persuade people to buy more products in order to be happy although these are not in the real need. Moreover, they are selling some brand images and we are encouraged to associate with certain products for higher status. Even they use glamorous and successful persons to convey the trends to us. As for example, some textile companies who are known as a brand are selling ordinary clothes at high prices because of their name only. That’s why I would argue that advertisers lead us to live a consumer culture rather than to think about the actual necessities of the society. In conclusion, I think advertisings should be regulated in order to improve society economy and to get rid of from those consumerism trends which are created by advertisements.