Advertising is everywhere. Some people feel the effects of advertising on society are largely negative and that advertisements encourage us to buy things we don't need. Others believe that advertising performs a useful service to society, such as informing the public about new products. What is your opinion? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

Along with the advent of mass products industry, advertisements are deemed powerful tools to approach as well as attracting customers to purchase the products. Some viewers; however, have called into question whether advertising is having a negative effect on society. This essay is an attempt to advocate the aforementioned statement. First and foremost, toxic advertisements are widely spreading on social media, which can be accessed by children anytime. Imagine how your kids are affected if they watch such ads containing violent or eighteen-plus scenes. Since children are too vulnerable and unawared, they will try to imitate what the characters do in those ads. In addition, parents are not always around to check whether their kids have accidently pressed in any link leading to detrimental adverts. Second, hardly could we find any advertisement without exaggeration. In order to raise interest of buyers in a particular product, advertisers are prone to apply a plethora of sale techniques including magnifying the benefits and briefly or not mentioning about the shortcomings. As a reference, instant noodles are widely advertised as a convenient, delicious and cheap food; however, overeating such products in a long period can engender cancer. Thereby, purchasers must be discerning when watching any advertisement. Last but not least, advertisers are exploiting the lack of media awareness from the young people to instil the thoughts that self-image is closely linked with the brand they use. In fact, more than 12 billion dollars per year are spent to approach the youth market alone. Consequently, teens are constantly subjected to a barrage of messages about what products to use. That can explain why teenagers tend to have an impulse on unnecessary items causing a waste of money. All in all, despite the tremendous benefits advertising offers to the mass-product industry, it is at the same time having a harmful impact on mental as well as economic health of customers. Therefore, such advertisements should be limited on TV and social media for the sake of society.