Advertising has positive aspects in economy and negative social aspects in making people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have.

Advertising is a key part of modern business which has its advantages and disadvantages. Some people believe that advertising can result in economic growth; others argue it can bring social unfulfillment. I suppose both mindsets are correct. One of the positive aspects of advertising lies in the economy. Firstly, advertising can help companies to introduce their products in a fascinating way which nudge people to buy them. This, results in companies' sailing rate rise and may give companies a chance to develop their businesses. Launching new production lines or new companies’ branches not only requires hiring more laborers which reduce the unemployment rate in a society, but also can provide an opportunity to export goods overseas. Secondly, since companies are taxpayers, the more they develop, the more government can earn money. Thus, advertisements can lead to economic growth by increasing the employment and export rate and enriching the government's revenue. On the other hand, advertisements' negative points are undeniable. Advertisements can manipulate people. They aim to persuade people what they have is not enough, and they would be happier if they purchased a new product. For example, every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models of mobile phones, while their available mobiles are viable and do not need to be replaced; perhaps it is the influence of marketing. Moreover, advertisements are focus on a brand image. They mostly use glamorous people to draw individual’s attention. So, as advertisements surround us, by constantly seeing these charming characters, people start to compare themselves with them ending up losing their self-confidence. Hence, the socially damaging effects of advertising can be seen in turning people to the compulsive buyers and lowering their self-assurance. To sum up, although advertising can prosper businesses and the economy, it can tempt people to buy unnecessary things and destroy their self-esteem. So, it is a double-edged sword, and I agree with both views.