Advertising discourages us from being different and individuals eventually look the same.

It is believed that advertisements standardized the way people dress and discourage individuality. I partly agree with this statement, advertising promotes conformity, and yet most people make their individual choices to look differently and to distinguish from others. On the one hand, much pressure experienced by young consumers, who are following trends which have been designed by the fashion industry and popularized by ads and celebrities. Furthermore, the mass- market giants such as Inditex and H&M possessing strong marketing resources impose their goods. There is no doubt that local brands and designers could not compete with giants due to financial inability for outdoor, TV and internet ads, special contracts with famous people and collaborations with other well known brands (H&M and Balenciaga, Uniqlo and Disney). Finally, easily influenced young people who are considered to be voguish and to be part of a group tend to look alike. On the other hand, it is extremely likely for a specific group of young trendy adults to strictly follow the trends while others, who are not addicted to the fashion industry (but could be interested in it), prefer to express their personality through their appearance, and still bestylish. For example, they could choose trendy color or garment as a military jacket and apply unpopular makeup, on the contrary them suits more. To sum up, despite some opinions about the identical effect of advertising on personal appearance, I strongly believe that advertising could not make the difference of individuals disappear. Even though trendsetters may look t