Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertising is gaining more popularity in the marketing of products or services. While advertisements are considered to be advantageous, they can have numerous negative influences. It is unquestionable that there are several benefits of advertising. By dint of the large-scale expansion of advertising in almost every kind of mass media and nearly all hoardings, this sector is likely to generate a diversity of employment opportunities. In other words, it provides occupations for artists, painters or copywriters in designing and preparing logos, contents or ideas for advertisements. Another advantage is that advertising may enable the messages involved in products and services to reach potential customers, followed by an increase in sales for businesses. Additionally, only thanks to advertisements, can customers be kept informed about newly-launched products. Therefore, they have more choices to make about their beloved products, contributing to the enhancement of their comforts and standard of living. However, advertising could cause several disadvantages for customers. No sooner might companies or business exaggerate or even distort the facts related to their products for commercial purposes than the customers can experience feelings of confusion about these items, making them have troubles selecting the products to their taste. Furthermore, the facts show that the more advertising expenses increase, the higher the product price is. The reason can be that the selling price of the advertised items covers the high cost of advertisements. As a result, the advertised products can cost more than they should. Finally, when customers cannot resist the temptation of products which are advertised beyond customers’ expectations, there is every likelihood of them purchasing products which may be unnecessary. This trend could be seen as a waste of money. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanations, individuals may gain both considerable benefits and drawbacks through the growing prevalence of advertisements.