Advertisement negatives and positives

No one can escape from watching advertisements since they are on every platform from newspapers, TV to social media. While many are against it and believe it has negative outcomes, others think differently and believe it is a healthy development to the economy. This essay will discuss both views and state why I agree with those who are proponents of advertising. Many argue that advertisements have adversely affected the financial health of many families. If people are exposed to a product on TV or social media, they will unconsciously desire to purchase that product even if they do not need it. This will increase their expenditures and reduce their monthly savings which will result in depleting their retirement fund. Smartphones, for instance, are not required to be upgraded each year since their life cycle is around 4 years, but people tend to purchase a new phone each year or two because of the extensive media attention around the specifications of the new phone. Others, however, think that advertisements have plenty of benefits to the economy. First of all, advertising is a multi-billion industry which offers millions of jobs around the world. This job creation reduces unemployment and increases the government income from taxes which can be used to improve the economy, pay debts and other expenditures such as healthcare and infrastructure. Another advantage of advertisement is supporting startups and entrepreneurs. Research has found that after the introduction of advertisements, the percentage of startups that go bankrupt is significantly declining. In my view, I think advertisements are beneficial to the community because of their positive impacts on the economy. Although some individuals are financially damaged by them, it is their mistake not to manage their wealth wisely. I believe the advertisement industry should not be punished due to the spending habits of people. In conclusion, while many argue that advertisement has detrimental effects on people financially, others think that it is healthy for the economy. I stand with the view that supports the existence of advertisement in our life because its negative side can be mitigated if people become more aware of how to spend their money.