advantages of academic and vocational streams of study for students and society

Drawing a fine line between the two streams, academic and vocational, for high school means that students at the age of fifteen need to be sure of what they want to achieve in their professional career. The academic stream would typically be for those who want to pursue their graduate studies in college or university, and the students who wish to pursue a skill-based career would typically choose the vocational stream. In my opinion, students and society, both, could benefit from providing the two main streams at high school. There are two main advantages for students. Firstly, students become very ambitious. In order to choose a stream, students would have to know what they wish to be in future at a very young age. Most successful people around the world have been working to become what they are today, very early on in their life. Secondly, the skilled workforce would have been training from a young age when their brains are still developing and this in turn could affect the quality of work for the better. Moreover, students would be able to meet peers who have similar interests and develop a special bond over time. Lastly, providing two streams gives students an extra career path to choose from and allows them to chase their dreams. Having two streams to choose from in high school could be advantageous to the society as well. When we train and nurture young talents, we encourage them to pursue what they wish to and to have a very dynamic thought process. The more doors we open up, the more talents we discover. This in turn gives back to society as young people, are indeed the future. In my high school days, I did not have the option of choosing vocational training. No matter what you want to become in life, it was compulsory for every student had to pursue their academic career until high school. However, as technology is advancing like never before, we are in need of new talents. Many job opportunities have opened up so it would be necessary to provide such options to students. Thus, I truly believe that countries that do offer the vocational stream is forward looking and because it is so beneficial to both students and society, I hope that other countries also do the same and give students this option.