advantages and disdvantages of foreign aids

Foreign aid is the giving or loaning of resources from one country to another. It usually involves money, labor, or materials, but can include food, water, or other commodities that may be necessary to provide assistance to local population groups. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of foreign aid with relevant examples to support. On the one hand, there are several benefits of foreign aid. Firstly, foreign aid can help countries to become more independent from other countries. By helping to develop a strong network of basic education, better infrastructure and a physically healthier population concomitant with a thriving economy and improved access to global markets. Hence, development aid also can help countries become more independent. Furthermore, foreign aid can also greatly help to reduce poverty in poor regions around the world. Billions of people still struggle to make enough income to afford housing and other basic things in order to survive. This is often due to the fact that the overall structure in those countries is quite weak and people will often not have the opportunities to work in jobs that pay well. Therefore, foreign aid can be a great tool to reduce the overall level of poverty across the globe. Despite its positive effects, it also has certain drawbacks too. Foreign aid often also favors some countries over others. Even though countries often claim that foreign aid is meant to benefit every country of our planet which urgently needs help, the reality is that some countries will get much higher better financial support compared to others. Another downside of foreign aid is that the money that is granted through those programs is often used in a rather inefficient manner. Quite often, a significant part of this money is lost in administrative processes and also the distribution of this money is subject to significant levels of discretion. Hence, a big fraction of the money from foreign aid may not benefit the general public of poor countries at all.