Advantages and disadvantages when parents require their children to do the household chores

On the one hand, there are several great benefits when children do housework themselves. First, they can develop many positive personal qualities such as being self-reliant or caring. For instance, a child being required to do household chores will learn to finish the tasks on their own. As a result, they will have more experience and become more disciplined as well as independent. In the long term, this even creates a healthy habit and a responsible way of thinking for children. In addition, doing household chores is also a good way to strengthen family bonds. This is because when a family share housework with each other, they have more time to spend together and children can see the happiness and advantages of sharing. On the other hand, asking children to do heavy housework at an inappropriate age can have negative impacts. First, they can become rebellious. When children are required to do something that they do not have enough ability to accomplish, they will quickly get tired and want to give up. Consequently, they will stop doing it and start to disobey their parents. More seriously, children can even be injured when they try to finish the tasks that they are assigned. For example, children might drop bowls when parents ask them to do the dishes and cut their fingers when they try to clean them.