advantages and disadvantages of using technology in the field of education

The advent of technology today is surging through all spheres of life, and no doubt, it is revolutionizing the field of education. Using technology in the classroom has always been a sceptical debate among educators, parents, learners, and even policy makers. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this trend, its potential positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks. Technology is considered a force multiplier for educators as it improves teaching methods and contributes to a better learning experience. In other words, Technology helps educational institutions provide an interactive learning environment through audio-visual tools. For instance, Interactive digitized boards, computers, projectors, PowerPoint presentations, and software make learning fun and interactive. Besides, technology makes it easier for schools and educators to store data and manage records. Secondly, not only the educational institutions, students are also immensely benefited from technology. For example, everything from apps and websites, to e-textbooks and tech tools, helps students to gather required information easily and further assists them in their studies. Even though the onset of technology has made education andlearningexperience more effective, there are undeniable disputes and challenges accompanied with it. Firstly, it can be distracting at many times. Internet enabled tablets and computers can be tempting for children to peek a moment into social networks, sports score or their favourite films. And of course, they may feel drawn to start texting and ‘tweeting’ their friends or even indulge in playing games. When they do so, they tend to get distracted from where their focus should actually be. Secondly, since the internet is an ocean of knowledge, it is possible for children to fall prey into wrong information. That being said, the internet is both a blessing and a curse. Students have to be guided appropriately into identifying and getting the proper and reliable research sources or else they will be misled easily. Lastly, disconnection from social interaction is a possibility. To illustrate, alatest survey conducted by Oxford University demonstrated that many students, particularly introverts, who get occupied in online networking and e-books for guidance instead of verbally communicating with their instructors and co-students, are failing to collaborate in the real-world. Consequently, this is resulting in lack of communication and social skills while interacting with others. In conclusion, although, there are a few disadvantages regarding the use of technology in education, there are plethora of advantages such as better learning experience, organised management, and easy retrieval of information, which outweighs the negative aspects.