ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF PLAYING VIDEO GAMES

Video games have become very popular due to technological advancements. The number of people playing video games regularly is very high; moreover, this number keeps increasing. Playing video games has both advantages and disadvantages for a person. First of all, there are some benefits of playing video games for a person. The biggest advantage of playing video games is that it improves hand and eye coordination. According to studies, the hand and eye coordination of people playing video games regularly are much better than people who do not play video games. Also, playing video games has a substantial effect on decision-making. Gamers are quicker than people who do not play video games when making decisions. On the other hand, playing video games has some disadvantages for a person. Firstly, video games dissocialize people. For instance, a person plays video games instead of meeting his/her friends. Secondly, video games can be addictive and this situation is the most essential disadvantage of playing video games. Video game addiction is one of the most crucial problems of the World; furthermore, unfortunately, the number of people who are addicted to video games keeps increasing. To sum up, playing video games has both benefits and downsides for people. The advantages are that it improves hand and eye coordination, and it has a substantial effect on decision making; the disadvantages are that it dissocializes people and it can be addictive. In addition, one should consider these advantages and disadvantages before playing video games.