1. In addition to professional benefits, how is a graduate degree good for one’s personal development? Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

Pursuing a master degree can not only strengthen professional knowledges, but also offer a desirable opportunity to develop others soft skills. In addition, studying in a graduate school is beneficial to build a social network as well as learn time management. Besides learning professional knowledges, a graduate student can also understand how to cooperate with others from their studies. During graduate studies, students are required to do many projects. Some of these projects can be done individually, but some of them should be finished in a group. Therefore, students have to work with their classmates together, and this is an ideal opportunity for students to develop their soft skills. If a person wants to cooperate with his teammates well, he requires a good command of communication. For instance, telling the instructions clearly and ensuring the other teammates understand are both fundamental skills of communication. In addition, leadership can also be trained while cooperating with classmates. Leadership is another key factor for us to be competitive. My experience is a great example to prove this. Two years ago, I was a leader of my team in the seminar course. In addition to preparing my presentation, I had to assign the duties to my classmates, and made sure that they understood what part of the paper they should be responsible. If my teammates faced some obstacles, I had to offer the solutions to made sure our teamwork run smoothly as well. Because of this experience, I realized that being a leader is not easy and it requires more opportunities to practice. Working on projects with classmates can help us acquire the abilities to communicate well with others as well as to be a good leader in a team. Another benefits graduate students can do in their studies is to build a strong social network. In addition to learn professional knowledge, students are encouraged to make some friends before graduation. For example, with the assistance from a friend, a graduate student can find a job easier. In addition, if we feel frustrated on our jobs, a best friend can offer some useful suggestions to help us combat the obstacles. Take my senior as an example, he majored in computer science for a master degree. After graduation, he found an occupation in a software company immediately. When I asked him why he could be so successful and lucky, he told me that one of his friends who participated in the same club as him introduced him to join that company. It is clearly note that building a social network is critical for a graduate student. Thirdly, I will say that time management is an important lesson in graduate studies. Regardless of graduate studies or work after graduation, many projects wait for us to finish. In order to finish all of them on time, a great time management is necessary. Compared to work, the schedule in graduate studies is more flexible. Thus, a graduate student has to take advantage of their time during studying to find a strategy on managing the time. Otherwise, the life will become like a disaster while they start to work because their lives will only be much busier afterwards. In conclusion, a graduate student is supposed to learn many skills before graduation. It is undoubtedly that building a strong foundation on their professional knowledge is the foremost thing. Moreover, some soft skills, such as communication and leaderships are also vital before entering the workforce. What’s more, building a social network as well as time management are the other two important lessons a graduate student should take in their studies.