advantages and disadvantages of plastic containers

Since the invention of containers made of plastic, the act of storing has become much easier than before and they are now the most popular type of container. However, there are both advantages as well as disadvantages about this type of container. About the advantages, it is undeniable that plastic bags are affordable to everyone. Due to cheap materials, producing a plastic bag is both easy and inexpensive so that the price for this kind of bags is low enough for every type of business regardless of their finance or scale. Take street vendors for instance, people who seems to have little money can still manage to buy plastic bags with large quantities. A second advantage of plastic containers is their convenience. Having an extremely light weight and strong durability as they are made of plastic, this kind of containers can meet the common and daily requirements. For example, in comparison with paper bags which can store an exact capacity, plastic bags are able to stretch and then it can be more effective. Moving on to the disadvantages, one obvious negative effect that plastic containers have is that they can leave great damage to the environment once they are no longer used. It takes hundreds of years for a plastic bags to dispose completely, as a result, during the process of disposing, plastic bags affect environment as they can pollute the soil or release toxic chemicals into the water and the air when they are burnt. According to a newspaper’s survey, it is estimated more than 100, 000 whales, birds and other animals die because of plastic bags. Another disadvantage of this type of containers is that plastic is non-renewable material. In order to produce plastic, one indispensable source of energy is fossil fuels which is widely known as an harmful material. It is believed that in a few years’ time, plastic will take 20% of the use of fossil fuels which will cause more damage to the source of energy world wide. In conclusion, although plastic containers have advantages of being convenience and low price, the damage that they bring to the environment is undeniably serious. In my opinion, plastic containers should be replaced or reduced for the sake of the environment.