Advantages and Disadvantages of Living in a City

Residing in a megalopolis comes with its own set of benefits and drawbacks: one notable advantage is the infrastructural services available in a city, whereas the pollution in terms of noise, environment, etcetera is its disadvantage. However, I believe that advantages of living in a city can outweigh the disadvantages. Infrastructural services such as electricity, clean water, transportation, telecommunications, health-care etcetera. are all accessible in cities. Unlike villagers, residents of a city have little to worry about lighting their bulbs: electricity is available for almost 24 hours in a day. Likewise, people have access to clean water in their homes and don’t need to travel miles to fetch it. Similarly, cities have superior transportation networks that allows people to travel with little effort. Also, telecommunication services are well established in cities: one can use the internet from every corner of a city. Additionally, crucial services such as health-care, of a finer caliber, is available in cities; people from all around the country travel to their nearby cities for treatment. Moreover, all these infrastructural services generate job opportunities –which is the main advantage that has been luring people to make a livelihood in a megalopolis. However, with all these advantages comes disadvantages too. There is rampant pollution in cities. Availability of large number of transportation options have fueled rise in traffic and has caused sound pollution. Also, vehicles emit significant amount of pollutants such as carbon monoxide which results in immense air pollution. Furthermore, waste materials form massive institutions like hospitals and households have turned the water bodies and land areas, nearby cities, into dumping sites. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of living in a city. Cities provide various facilities and better opportunities but it has also created toxic level of pollution. Nonetheless, I believe that pros of living in a city can outweigh the cons because every problem can be solved in matter of time.