Advantages and Disadvantages of Industries and Companies away from Residential areas

While some think that there are benefits of building large companies within cities, many believe that factories and companies must be constructed in sites outside urban residential areas. Although I think that the advantages of shifting industries away from communities outweigh the disadvantages, I also believe that future industries can be situated within cities. Constructing large company buildings and factories away from residential areas is a good method to reduce the traffic. Factories produce a great amount of noise, air, water, and land pollution, which reduces the quality of living and is quite harmful to the health of the residents. For instance, chemicals and wastes produced by factories, which are usually released into the air or dumped into landfills or water bodies, can pollute the atmosphere and drinking water, causing serious health issues for residents. Another good reason for shifting such large companies and factories outside residential zones is that it reduced the traffic. Large vehicles that are required for transporting materials and goods from and to the factories often block the roads and disrupt the traffic, making travelling difficult for commuters. On the other hand, there are few drawbacks to having companies and industries in other regional zones. Because the infrastructure of local regions might not be as developed as cities, it can result in inconvenience for the companies to shift their factories and building in local areas. Moreover, having factories away from residential zones causes inconvenience for employers as well. Situating workplaces away from their homes increases the average distance, which in turn require them to spend more time, energy and money on travelling alone. Because of this, it is convenient for them to work in places that are closer to their homes. In conclusion, there are many advantages and disadvantages of situating factories and industries away from the cities. Although it might be inconvenient to companies and their employees, shifting factories and company buildings away from residential zones result in lesser pollution and a better environment in residential zones and overall quality of living.