Advantages and Disadvantages of GM Crops

Genetically modified crops are crops that have had their genes altered in some way; like corn or potatoes that have been tweaked in a lab to increase the amount or quality of food they produce. There are many advantages of GM crops, but in the other hand, they have disadvantages too. The most powerful advantage of Genetically modified crops is that they are designed to be healthier because scientists can select the most ideal traits to include in them. They may have fewer pesticides. They have been also altered to be less vulnerable to insects and other pests. The use of fewer pesticides in crops may lead to fewer health risks for people eating them and less damage to the environment. The second advantage is that they are usually cheaper because farmers can produce the same amount of food using less land, less water, and fewer pesticides than conventional crops. The third advantage is that they may have more nutrients like vitamins or minerals. Although Genetically modified crops can offer many advantages in costs and nutrition, but some experts worry that they carry health risks, as well. Firstly, they may cause allergic reactions because they contain DNA from other organisms. Secondly, They may increase antibiotic resistance because when scientists insert new DNA into plant cells, they will often add in an additional gene that makes the modified cells resistant to antibiotics. They can then use an antibiotic to kill off any plant cells that didn't successfully take in the new DNA. In my opinion, Genetically modified crops are a good choice if we are in need to, but it is better to have the seasonal crops in the real fields to be more safe and to have the real benefit of them.