advantages and disadvantages of consumerism

Consumerism is a complex issue that has a wide social and environmental implication, and discussion about it is a very controversial one. People are on both sides of the arguments, and both of them have very strong reasons that support their opinion. Some people say that consumerism has lots of drawbacks, while others say that it has many advantages. It is undeniable that consumerism brings people a lot of benefits. The greatest upside of consumerism are that it helps in the creation of new jobs. Because the larger the number of goods consumed, the more goods are produced, so it requires human resources to produce, which has created job opportunities for the idleness as a result, the number of unemployed people in the community should be decreased. Furthermore, it improves the quality of citizens' lives and reduces the poverty of society. For example, in developed countries, workers earn enough money that makes their lives better and problems related to poverty like homelessness, should be reduced. Too, consumerism helps and encourages creativity in business because employees will do their best to be creative, to earn more and more money. On the other hand, consumerism has its own perils. . Firstly, it tends to ignore the finitude of our planet’s resources and puts more and more pressure on it. For example, When manufacturing furniture such as tables and chairs or cabinets, manufacturers will have to import a large amount of wood and to get wood, people will have to cut trees. This will lead to the destruction of forests and the natural environment. Besides, during the production process will emit harmful gases. All of the above will put pressure on the environment and human health. . In addition, possession of these goods has become a status symbol for the consumers who are willing to run into debts in order to purchase these consumer items. If this action continues for a long time, the amount owed will become too large for the borrower, easily leading to the end of life or easy to cause misleading actions such as bank fraud To sum up, to overcome the negative impacts of consumerism, governments should not only explain those drawbacks. But also should help their citizens to benefit from it without destroying our environment.