advantages and disadvantages of cats and dogs for animals and community

These days, numerous people prefer to have a cat or a dog as their buddy. Keeping these pets has positive and negative aspects; not only for the animals and the owners but also for society. Regarding the disadvantages, the first and foremost one for the animals is the limitation of freedom. Most cities have strict rules about pets which restrict them to move around freely or without the owner's observation. They also can be hurt or even abandoned by irresponsible owners. Streets abound with feral cats and dogs who are a serious threat to native animals. Scientists say at least 3 species have become extinct in the last decade and more are at the wedge of extinction by ferals. Thus, since governments are responsible to collect, feed and control them, lots of money must be spent every year which can be considered as a drawback for the community. Nevertheless, as the goal of evolution is reproduction, owing to living with humans who love, care for, and fed them carefully, it can be said that cats and dogs are two of the most successful species; much more than they could survive naturally. The very existence of a vet in every corner and a variety of pet foods and accessories in all supermarkets all over the world can prove our passion for these lovable friends. Significant money is spent to care for pets each year all over the world which has made a huge industry. Thereby, creating a large number of jobs is the first benefit of these creatures for society. However, there is a much more important advantage. Research has shown pets can reduce the stress level of the owners. Therefore, not surprisingly, why do pet lover countries have fewer psychological disorders; The more pet, the mentally healthier citizens and so, the less cost of healthcare. All aforementioned issues are caused by the human at the very first stage. Pets are great companions and overall, as far as I am concerned, the pros of keeping them outweigh the cons.