advantages and disadvantages of being bilinggual

In modern era, being able to talk in two different languages is widely common among everyone. The aim of this essay is to discuss the benefits and drawbacks of being bilingual. There are a number of positive impacts when a person can speak 2 languages. Firstly, being bilingual is a huge academic advantages. Using two languages mean that the brain’s excutive control system work harder. Therefore, people who are able to communicate in different languages can improve their cognitive function, social skills and multitasking skill. Furthermore, they can easily learn the third language because they already have the ability of language. Being bilingual is beneficial because they can understand both languages so it is easier to communicate. However, when being able to understand 2 languages, several problems can be anticipated. First of all, the speaker might have weaker verbal skill than monolingual. Being able to understand different languages, an individual have to study both languages at the same time. Therefore, they cannot only focus totally to one language. This also led to lack of lexical. If they use one language for daily life, some vocabulary in the other language may be forgotten. In conclusion, there are undeniable advantages and disadvantages of being flexible in two different languages. In the future, many people will learn the second language for work or study’s requirement.