Adults today do not do enough exercise. Some people believe that showing major sports events like the Olympics or the Football World Cup on television encourages people to exercise. Others argue that there are better ways to encourage adults to move more.

It is an undeniable fact that enough physical activity is not done by many adult people. While some think that individuals are encouraged by showing important sports activities such as the Olympics games or the Football World Cup on TV, other people believe that this can be better achieved by different methods. In my opinion, adults can be fostered to participate in physical exercises by making them watch TV programmes related to sports. On the one hand, I agree that people above 18 years ought to be shown sports activities in TV in order to persuade them to take part in strenuous physical activities. This is because they are often encouraged by sports individuals, particularly elite athletes, who maintain better physique owing to their rigorous workouts and games in sports matches. Furthermore, watching a sports activity in the media would enable adults to learn about any game with ease, which would have been almost impossible had they did not view these games in the first place. On the other hand, according to some, individuals who are 18 years or more can be better encouraged to exercise in other ways. Firstly, advertisements, for instance, newspapers or billboards need to give more emphasis on physical education, which could motivate adult people to start exercising. Moreoever, schools could probably teach students about physical exercises and games. By doing this, these pupils may start to be active, which might filter through to their parents as well. For instance, in the UK, many adults started to lead an active lifestyle as a result of playing games with their children who learnt these games at their educational premises. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that they can be easily persuaded to exercise by broadcasting activities related to sports on TV.