Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

In this contemporary era, most young people are hesitant in adopting agriculture as a professional career, despite the agricultural industry being the pillar of every nation. This essay will discuss the causative factors behind this thought and measures to tackle this situation in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, there are umpteen reasons for the youth being reluctant towards entering into the agribusiness as a career. Primarily, as the masses believe that farming is antiquated and unprofitable, it is not a financially rewarding career. To explicate, while choosing the career options, parents insist on their young ones the professions which consists of lucrative benefits and can make them economically successful. For instance, because parents consider agriculture as not a viable business, they programme their children since their childhood to become a doctor, engineer or prefer an urban-based job to make their career stable. Thus, eventually, they tend to think in the same direction without realising the pivotal role of crops production. However, various actions can be taken into consideration to improve this situation. Predominantly, people’s stereotypical mind-set now should be changed so that the mentality of youth can be transformed from their early years of education which can make them realise success in agriculture as a career. To clarify, if primary and high school educational institutions include modules on farming, from growing to marketing crops, this could help young people recognise agriculture as a potential career. To exemplify, an organisation in Africa, Farm Africa runs a project aiming to help school children discover more about agriculture as a profession. Hence, in this way youth can push their boundaries towards the advantageous aspect of opting for agriculture as their main occupation. In conclusion, the aforementioned discussion propounds the view that although there are some hindrances for the youngsters in opting for agribusiness as their prospective job, initiating some promising solutions will certainly transform the whole system dramatically and also bolster the economy. If individuals and the government instigate collaboratively, the future of agriculture in a country will flourish to its pinnacle.