With the development of cosmopolitan and metropolitan cities, most of the people are migrating to them from the countryside, in search of better prospects and employment.

With the development of cosmopolitan and metropolitan cities, most of the people are migrating to them from the countryside, in search of better prospects and employment. With such a huge surge in migrating population, living spaces in these cities have become scarce. To better accommodate these people, the buildings in the cities are gaining height and hence the city is growing vertically instead of horizontaly. There are numerous pros and cons to living in a vertical city with various tall buildings over a horizontal city with lesser tall buildings, some of them are discussed below. Living in a vertical city, with various tall buildings, one saves on a very important natural resource, Land. As more people are accommodated in smaller space, the per person impact on land is low and hence the footprint is lesser. This results in more space available for other facilities and ease of access to everything as everything is approachable since the city is able to grow vertically and hence the size of the city remains smaller. And with the advent of fast elevators and power backup generators there is no limit to the floors that can be added to the buildings without inconveniencing the occupants. A beautiful example of such a development is Mumbai. Wherein everyday as more and more people come in to the city they can all be accommodated without actually the city spreading its footprint, and still being able to maintain its greenscape like Rajeev Gandhi national park etc. On the other hand, living in a horizontal city with lesser tall buildings has its own perks, like being able to experience the fresh air as there is no tall skyline blocking the free flow of air. Living in smaller buildings, one is able to have more of a communal and healthy lifestyle. An example would be a city like Pune, where even though population is increasing the skyline is the same as the city is growing in footprint horizontally. Hence it all boils down to ones own preferences, as each individual has a right to make their own choice. There are positives and negatives to both which need to be weighed before reaching a conclusion depending on the kind of life one intends to lead.