*Academic Writing Task 2* You are supposed to spend 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays more and more people are spending less time at home. Why do you think it happens? What effect does this have on individuals and the society?

Home is always where the heart is and the peace and comfort therein is priceless. However, a recent study showed  that majority of the people are spending minimal time at home. This could be due to availability of multiple jobs that they do in an effort to make ends meet in the current economy and also advanced technology is to blame as it presents itself with malls and joints which draw masses for socialization. Inasmuch as this is beneficial to individuals, cultural values and the societal norms lose meaning. Firstly, the economic recession in most countries poses a higher standard of living and  forces its citizens, those employed, to go an extra mile in securing a second job. This is evident in homes with a single bread winner who caters for all expenses in the house. As a result, the financial burden will make him/her be on the look out for another source of income. Take for example a nurse whose family is fully dependent on. In an effort to fend for the family a second job will come in handy therefore less time will be spend away from home. On the other hand, being at home with the larger family fosters cultural values. Young ones are quick learners based on what they are exposed to. When left alone watching television, they could either be impacted positively or negatively. To give an example, when children are growing it’s important to instill the best behavior at that age. Good manners and proper etiquette are learnt from their elders who, in the current world, are not available and hence the basic values are lost. In conclusion, the global demands are on the rise and people have to work harder to meet them. However, this poses a challenge on the importance of family as a unit where youngsters learn most of the values from.