A serious problem facing cities right across the globe is the low air quality that leads to many health problems. Why is this happening, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

It goes without saying that poor air quality in the cities is one of the biggest concern facing us today since it tremendously affects our health. Even though this problem is caused by a number of aspects, there is a chance for us to address this. One of the reason is that people nowadays are over-reliant on private transportation. This means an excessive vehicle is primarily used for people who owned it which is not available for any public purposes. Using private transportation has become a trend even it releases tons up carbon footprints, people feel it more convenient, clean and suitable for their own purposes. For instance, buses in Vietnam are somehow gross and take a long period of waiting consequently this is why citizens not feeling comfortable with public transportation. The way forward might be the government needs to repair and upgrade public vehicles to make it more modern, attractive and having a better quality. Another problem to consider is industrial wastes. By using non-renewable energy sources, smoke from industry when burning things or creating energy is the biggest threat toward human-being. This is in light of the fact that these energy sources unleashed green house has such as N20, CO2, VOx that seriously affected our respiratory system and can be fatal. For example in 2020, experts have found that Ha Noi's air pollution reaches critical level is not only by vehicles but also by smoke from industry. To tackle this problem, the government or industrial company should change in to nature or renewable energy sources such as sun power, wind power to decrease the emissions and increase our air quality. To sum up, poor air quality is caused by variety of reasons so the increasing in private transportation and industrial wastes are just two of them. However, these can be deal by the government's interference in upgrading public transports or finding a better source of energy.