A recent survey of sports spectators found that 60% of them could not remember the main event sponsor. Do spectators benefit from sponsorship in sports? Discuss.

While sponsor companies in sports try to increase brand awareness, it is suggested by the latest survey that 60% of sports spectators did not care and memorize which company chiefly sponsors the sports event. This essay aims to show that sponsorship in sports is significant to spectators, despite the survey result. Some people argue that sponsorship in sports plays an essential role for spectators’ sakes, and I agree with this view. As a matter of course, sports events themselves rely on sponsorship, so without sponsorship ordinally people cannot enjoy sports. For example, people cannot watch the events on TV without money from sponsorship because the cost to broadcast the event on TV can be paid by sponsorship money. In addition, sponsorship can contribute to players’ high performances. Players can practice in an extremely good environment with support from the sponsorship companies, so players can maintain their qualities. Therefore, spectators cannot watch players’ better performance without support from sponsor companies. On the other hand, it is often said sponsorship in sports reduce spectators’ fun. People who enjoy sports always complain about advertisements. This is why too many advertisements on TV during sports events are annoying for people who would like to focus on sports purely. Moreover, it seems that players sometimes cannot maintain their condition because sponsor companies ask them a lot of works related to advertisements such as TV commercials, interviews and so on, which means people cannot enjoy players’ better performances. In conclusion, though there are some criticisms about sponsorship in sports, it appears that sponsor companies are essential for spectators to watch sports events on TV and enjoy player’s good performances. Therefore, spectators get a lot of benefits from sponsorship in sports.