A recent study finds that adolescents today are sleeping fewer hours per night than older generations and it is mainly due to their smartphones.

A recent study finds that adolescents today are sleeping fewer hours per night than older generations and it is mainly due to their smartphones. Teenagers, according to most sleep experts, require at least 9 hours of sleep a night to be productive. However, the young generation nowadays are found to sleep fewer hours than the older generations. To find out whether the young are sleeping less, a survey was opened. Its result was that the more time young people reported spending online, the less sleep they got. Smartphones are believed to interfere with the body's natural sleep-wake rhythm by the light wavelengths emitted. And to compensate for the lack of sleep, students are likely to doze off during daytime hours. Since then, limiting screen time by 2 hours a day is found to be the key to a healthy lifestyle. Teenagers and adults should also consider if their smartphone usage is interfering their sleep since sleep is important both physicall and mentally.