Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that the most suitable punishment for offenders is jail. I completely agree with this opinion and think jails are a must for offenders. First of all, I believe that for the safety of other people criminals must stay in the prison. Otherwise he/she can try to harm others again. Offenders are dangerous for people and prisons are the best way to keep them away and make sure others are protected. For example, in history some criminals escaped from the jail and reoffended. They harmed people again and again. That’s why it is essential to keep criminals in prisons. Secondly, after you do something wrong you need time and consideration of why what you did was wrong and how can you make up for it. So all you need is some time to think. In prison criminals have plenty of time to think and reconsider themselves. Criminals can analyze the situation and regret what they did if they did not in the first place. Again this will also help themselves and keep others safe and protected. For example when I was a child and did something wrong, my mother used to tell me to go to my room, stay alone some time and think what I did. I was imagining everything again and analyze emotions of mine and how others felt after what I did. Finding the things that I did wrong really helped me instead of my mother just telling me. I started to understand myself and others more. Thus, having some time to think can help for criminals and others own good. To conclude, I strongly believe that criminals must stay in prison for their and everyone else’s wellness for the future.