: A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

The worth of a person and how can we comprehend such an abstract notion, has been a long pondered upon subject. In times past, a person's worth may have been based upon the moral values one possesed, like how kind were they to their fellow people, how much kindness did they show to the genreal public or how trusted were they by their peers. However times have changed, and with it has changed how we as a society estimate a person's worth. These days all the attention seems to have been shifted to the materialistic possessions one gathers, rather than moral capacity one holds. One's worth is now connected to how high he/she is in the social ladder, the annual income of an individual, how big of a property do they own, etcetra. One can argue that moral values no longer hold importance over physical possions and currency. However one can also argue that people of the past who were revered as kings and lords, gained their very status because of their material wealth itself, and not because of the values they held. I beileve human behavour and society as a whole, is rarely black and white. There is always a hint of grey; it is true that a person's worth, on a surface level, is all too easy to be attributed to how much their annual salaray is or how expensive is the car they drive. But it does not invalidate the fact that, beyond that surface level evaluation, an immoral person will never be respected or loved by their own. Yes, they still may earn a huge paycheck, but physical possesions cannot the match the warmth and liveliness of human affection. To conclude, I do disagree with the statment, however not entirely. As today a person's value is connected to their net worth, but their place in the society is not a result of just that.