Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.

Nowadays, many people spend a long time on commuting every day, especially in big cities. Some people argue that the park and gardens in downtown areas should be replaced with apartment buildings in order to reduce the commuting time. In my opinion, this is possibly a viable solution, but there are other better options. Constructing more apartment buildings in the city center will provide more accommendations near people's workplace. In modern city, most companies are located in city center, where the land is limited and many employees couldn't afford to rent or buy a house there. Replacing the leisure places with apartment buildings will create more accommendations, which might drive down the house price a little bit and allow more people living in downtown as well. Thus, those people can live near their company and reduce time for traveling between company and home. However, the opponents may argue that reducing the number of parks and gardens may have an adverse impact for the living standards in city center, which may cause some people do not want to live in city center anymore. Gardens and parks are good places for people to relax after working or studing for a whole day. Some people may think those places are important for them in their hectic everyday life, and they would rather move away from city center which does not provide leisure facilities to pursuit better living quality. For those people, their commuting time may even increase after this change. In my opinion, replacing gardens and parks with apartments may help some people to save time on traveling between home and workplace, but this method does not apply to people who emphsis more on their living quality and enjoy going to parks and gardens. I think there are better choices to solve this problem. For example, the government can increase the expenditure on the construction of public transportation system and encourage citizens to try public transport instead of driving their own cars. In this way, there will be less traffic jam and the commuting time for people will be reduced.