A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

Regarding a person’s worth, it can be seen from today society that people judge other person’s worth by using social status and material possessions as criteria. Personally, it is undeniable that a person’s worth is judged according to material status, however I firmly believe that old-fashioned values are still essential. It seems to me that people tend to look at material things and social status, rather than looking inside people. For instance, when celebrities post their pictures with many material things, people want to be like that. Sometimes people try too hard to be like those celebrities on the internet. Therefore, it is true that a person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to richness and social status, but this does not mean that old-fashioned values are disappeared. Honor, trust, or other old-fashioned values are still important. Nevertheless, old-fashioned values are still one of criteria that most people consider people’s worths in their daily life basis. In order to form friendship, love, or family, old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, are essential matters. It is undeniable that people still use richness to judge a person’s worth, but people still use kindness, honesty, and other values to consider a person’s worth. Besides, in business world, people choose to do business with a person who has trust, kindness, and honesty. To summarize, I strongly believe that people nowadays do not use only richness or material possessions to judge a person’s worth. Old-fashioned values are still considered as the most important requirements to form basic relationships with others.