A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued by certain section of society that an individual is respected based on the income they earn and materialistic things they posses while traditional values such as trustworthiness and honesty is not considered to as vital. I agree with this trend partially as I believe that there are people who give much importance for kindness and generosity over money. Even though some people do not have rich status or earn a plethora of money, some individual’s in society respect and value them. In other words, certain people are valued by others because they are helpful and kind-hearted. For example, my father, who is a school teacher, is respected by most of the people in the community although he does not live any luxurious life. From this, it can be considered that not all people judge others or respect them from their status and bank-balance. However, there are a kind of people who differentiate rich and poor while giving utmost importance to those who have high-income in society and maintaining millions of worth properties around the world. To be more specific, having a lot of money and rich status makes them more powerful which makes other humans respect them and obey their words. For instance, people give respect to Avinash Choudhary, who is a Council member of Hyderabad, in India because he is a politician and powerful even though he did not work for the betterment of the community that everyone knows but still they respect him. In conclusion, although few humans are respected and valued for having high-paid salaries and their properties, others are judged from their ancestral values and kindness. Kindness and trustworthiness are imperative to some human beings than money.