A number of employments are increasing from 1987 to 2000

This dissertation three chapters related to development economics encompassing education, health and emigration. The first Chapter, “Is Gender-gap Disappearing? Evidence from Household Educational Expenditures in Nepal” explores investment decision of parents on education of children in Nepal. In a firm patriarchal society like Nepal, parents are more willing to invest on boys than on girls as investing on former is perceived as a future insurance since the boys remain with the families and take care of them. This study examines the household allocation of resource on education in Nepal. Using an OLS approach on individual-level data from 1995 and 2010 from Nepal, the study finds a weakly significant evidence pro-male gender-gap over expenditure on children’s education in 1995. The same approach does not yield any significant gender bias across households in 2010. Further, the results across ethnic-groups shows that Brahmin/Chhetri, the upper echelon on traditional caste system, spend more on children’s education than other ethnic groups in both years. The paper finds no evidence for systematic difference on spending pattern between rural and urban households. Second Chapter “Estimating the causal effect of Mother Education on Child and Infant Mortality in Cameroon: Evidence from the Demographic and Health Surveys Data”, coauthored with Simba Mutsvangwa, studies impact of waiving school fees for primary education, which provides a natural experiment to examine the causal effect of mother education on child mortality in a developing country. Our empirical analysis relies on data from two rounds of Demographic